Council On Aging

The Norwell Council on Aging is a municipal department comprised of seven-member board of town-appointed residents. Staff includes one full-time Director, one part-time Outreach Coordinator, one part-time Program Coordinator, 2 part-time drivers and 1 part-time custodian. The COA has been in existence since 1966 and offers services.


Follow Rte. 3 South to exit 13 (Rte. 53/Rte. 123/Norwell/Hanover). At the end of the ramp, turn LEFT onto Rte. 53 (Washington St.). At the first light (junction of Rte. 123 and Rte. 53) turn RIGHT onto Rte. 123 (Webster St.). Assinippi General Store will be on the right. The road turns to Main St. once you enter Norwell. Follow Rte.123/Main St. for approximately 1 1/2 miles. You will pass Norwell Middle and High School on the right and Town Hall on the left. Turn RIGHT onto Circuit St and follow for approximately one mile. You will see blue signs for the Norwell Council on Aging. Turn RIGHT onto Pine St. The Norwell Council on Aging is on the right.

Staff Contacts

Name Title
Susan Curtin Director
Dee Dee Obert Outreach Coordinator
Debbie Blackington Program Coordinator
Judy Kelly Receptionist
Linda Boden Receptionist
Robert Mavilia Van Driver
Betty McNeil Van Driver
Richard Norton Van Driver
Donald Tavares On-Call Driver

Board Members

Name Title
Maryellen Arapoff At Large Member (2017)
Kate Vaughan At Large Member (2020)
Beata Takahashi At-Large Member (2021)
Frances Kneeland At Large Member (2021)
John Mahoney At Large Member (2021)