Select Board

The Select Board is composed of five members who are elected for three-year terms. As the Chief Elected and Executive Officers of the Town, the board is vested with all the municipal authority not specifically retained by the Town's legislative body, Town Meeting, or other elected boards. The Select Board appoints a Town Administrator who is responsible for the daily management of the Town.

The Select Board issues the Warrants for Town Meetings, initiates legislative policy by creating Articles for Town Meeting Warrants and then implements the votes on Articles adopted for administrative policies. The Select Board appoints members of various official boards and commissions, holds public hearings on important Town issues, represents the Town before the General Court and enforces Town by-laws and regulations.

The board also serves as the licensing authority responsible for issuing over 70 licenses in more than 20 categories, including Common Victualler, Livery/Hackney, Amusement/Entertainment, Class I, Class II & Class III Motor Vehicle, Lodging House, and One-Day Alcohol. The Select Board conducts show-cause hearings on license violations.

The Select Board meets every other Wednesday, unless otherwise posted, at 7:00 P.M. in the Osborn Room at Town Hall. The meetings are broadcast live on Comcast Channel 9 and Verizon Channel 40.

The Select Board is currently meeting remotely due to the COVID state of emergency. Instructions to join the meeting are printed at the top of each meeting agenda. 

Staff Contacts

Name Title
Lynda Allen Executive Assistant to Town Administrator
Peter Morin Town Administrator
Ellen McKenna Administrative Assistant

Board Members

Name Title
Ellen H. Allen Member (2023)
Jason Brown Vice Chair (2022)
Bruce Graham Chair (2022)
T. Andrew Reardon Member (2024)
Peter W. Smellie Clerk, Member (2024)