Board of Appeals


The Norwell Board of Appeals, which is also referred to as the Norwell Zoning Board of Appeals or the ZBA, is comprised of three regular members and up to five associates, appointed by the Select Board for staggered three-year terms.

The Board of Appeals is empowered to act on appeals, special permits, variances, site plan reviews and modifications, and comprehensive permits, in accordance with applicable sections of Massachusetts General law, Chapter 40A and 40B; the Norwell Town and Zoning Bylaw; and ZBA Rules and Regulations. Public hearings are generally scheduled twice a month or as needed. Meetings are now telecasted and can be viewed live and/or as rebroadcasted on Comcast Channel 9 or Verizon Channel 40 or as recorded on Vimeo.

Each application is processed by the Office of the Board of Appeals in accordance with the legal requirements and timetables established under the Massachusetts Zoning Act, the Open Meeting Law, Town and Zoning Bylaws and the Board's Rules and Regulations. The Board's administrative assistant is available during regular business hours at the Norwell Town Offices to provide information regarding application procedures.

The Board recommends that prospective applicants familiarize themselves with the Board's Rules and Regulations and the Norwell Zoning Bylaw, which can be purchased at the Office of the Town Clerk or viewed at the Norwell Public Library or online at

Staff Contacts

Name Title
Thomas M. Barry, C.B.O. Zoning Enforcement Officer
Roberta Mahoney Administrative Assistant

Board Members

Name Title
Lois S. Barbour Chair, Member (2025)
Philip Y. Brown Vice Chair, Member (2024)
Ralph J. Rivkind Clerk, Member (2024)
Nicholas Dean Associate Member (2023)
William J. Lazzaro Associate Member (2023)
Stephen H. Lynch Associate Member (2023)
Daniel M. Senteno Associate Member (2025)
Joseph E. LaFleur Associate Member (2025)