Board of Selectmen

The Board of Selectmen is composed of five members who are elected for three-year terms. As the Chief Elected and Executive Officers of the Town, the Selectmen are vested with all the municipal authority not specifically retained by the Town's legislative body, town meeting, or other elected boards. The Selectmen appoint a Town Administrator who is responsible for the daily management of the town.

The Selectmen issue the warrants for town meetings: initiate legislative policy by inserting articles in Town Meeting Warrants; and then implement the votes subsequently adopted. They adopt town administrative policies. The Selectmen appoint members of various official boards and commissions; hold public hearings on important town issues, represent the town before the General Court, and enforce town by-laws and regulations.

The Selectmen also serve as the licensing board responsible for issuing over 70 licenses in more than 20 categories, including Common Victualer, Livery/Hackney, Entertainment, Automatic Amusement, Class I, Class II & Class III Motor Vehicle, Lodging House, and One-Day Alcohol. The Selectmen conduct show cause hearings on license violations.

The Board of Selectmen meets every Wednesday, unless otherwise posted, at 7:30 P.M. in the Osborn Room at Town Hall. The meetings are broadcast live on Comcast Channel 9 and Verizon Channel 40.

Staff Contacts

Name Title
Peter Morin Town Administrator
Lynda Allen Executive Assistant to Town Administrator
Ellen McKenna Admin. Asst. to Advisory Board, Board of Selectmen

Board Members

Name Title
Jason Brown Chair (2019)
Alison Demong Vice Chair (2018)
Ellen H. Allen Member (2020)
Gregg McBride Member (2019)
Peter D. Smellie Clerk (2018)