Commission of Disabilities

Mission Statement

The mission of the Commission on Disabilities in Norwell is to collaborate with community leaders, residents, businesses, and organizations to promote awareness related to all types of disabilities, including cognitive, developmental and physical impairments. Through education and advocacy, the Commission provides resources to citizens who wish to access services and support groups.

"How can the "Town of Norwell" help the "Disability Community?" Send us your thoughts please!


The Norwell Commission on Disabilities is sponsoring a training session on Wednesday, February 3 at 6:30 p.m., in the Osborn Room at Town Hall, with Jeff Dougan, the Assistant Director of Community Services for the MA Office on Disabilities.  The purpose of this session is to provide an overview and information on State and Federal mandated accessibility responsibilities for all public programs, services and facilities in Norwell.   Topics include requirements of local government and private organizations that offer public activities, programs and services, an explanation of public accommodations and requirements of the Massachusetts Architectural Access Board and ADA related to public projects such as buildings, sidewalks, sports complex, etc., effective accessibility related communication and the role of the Commission on Disabilities and State agencies. Education on these topics is critical to ensure that Norwell is compliant with the State and Federal regulations granting equal access for disabled residents to buildings and open area spaces in our town.  This session is recommended for Town employees, all boards, commissions and civic organizations, as well as any interested residents.  Since this is a general information session, residents with individual concerns are encouraged to contact  Norwell Commission on Disabilities for assistance.  To register or for more information, please contact the Norwell Commission on Disabilities at


Staff Contacts

Board Members

Name Title
Patti M. Nelson Secretary (2018)
Kevin Cohane Member (2018)
Susan Curtin Chair (2019)
Laurie Galvin Member (2017)
James Kelliher Member (2017)
Deborah M. Paine Member (2018)